GFI in the l'ECHO newspaper 03/04/21

GFI in the l'ECHO newspaper 03/04/21
Posté sur Press
03/04/2021

Gold & Forex, New management

  • Founded in 2005, Gold & Forex has weathered the crisis well in its precious metals business.
  • On the other hand, foreign exchange is at half-mast. This has led to the need to explore new opportunities.
  • For example, a deposit activity will be created.
  • The company can count on the support of its new shareholder, Whitestone Partners.

Gold coins

©saskia vanderstichele

Simon Souris

03 April 2021 02:45

The holding company Whitestone Partners, created by former CNP employees, has become the majority shareholder of the Belgian leader in foreign exchange and precious metals.

Behind the relative calm of the Rue du Midi, the Gold & Forex International (GFI) trading room is buzzing with activity. A team of 13 people is busy with the rhythm of almost constant phone calls. On the screens, the price of a Napoleon, a Krugerrand or an ounce of gold rises and falls according to supply and demand. Welcome to the discreet world of currency and precious metal trading.

The company nestled in the heart of historic Brussels is the market leader in Belgium. Its customers? From the average person, who can obtain more than 60 currencies in banknotes on the same day before an urgent departure abroad, to the country's banks, via family offices or wealth managers.

"The crisis has reinforced the appeal of safe havens such as physical gold.

Alexandre Convent Head of the trading desk at GFI

 

Last year, turnover amounted to 238 million euros, compared to nearly 157 million pre-Covid. This is a sign "that the crisis has strengthened the appeal of safe-haven assets such as physical gold (known as investment gold)" and other precious metals, which account for the vast majority of the business, says Alexandre Convent, head of the trading desk.

 

But not everything is rosy, due to the crisis. In the foreign exchange business, the travel ban has quite logically weighed on volumes. "Today, we work mainly with the dollar, the pound sterling and the Swiss franc," says the counter clerk, who has been in the business for 35 years.

A revitalization of the offer is therefore being studied. With the key, why not, an emphasis on numismatics that continues to animate the few shops in the historic center, as well as enthusiasts on the web.

After all, the world is changing. Quickly. Drastically. So it would be dangerous to ignore it. Multiple diversification plans are on the table, such as the possibility of buying gold by the gram, which would eventually be physically converted once the weight of a 10 gram ingot is reached, for example. This would open the door to new generations, inspired by the Bitcoin model.

Last year, Gold & Forex launched an e-commerce platform allowing gold purchases up to 60,000 euros.

 

Last year, an e-commerce platform was also launched for gold purchases up to a maximum of 60,000 euros. "The idea is to increase this to 15% of sales within three years," says Nicolas Portello, head of operations and digitalization.

Moreover, a deposit activity will be launched next week. This will enable anyone who wants to have their precious metals stored in a safe place, outside the banking system, which was sometimes rendered inaccessible at the peak of the crisis. GFI will provide a remote deposit management tool in the process that will handle any physical interaction.

Ammunition needed

But with ambition... comes the need for ammunition. In this sense, GFI can now count on the support of its new shareholder since January, the young investment holding Whitestone Partners, we learn. Co-founded by former members of the Compagnie Nationale à Portefeuille (CNP) of the Frère family, the company has taken a majority stake in the Brussels-based company.

 New management team

Nicolas Portello (left) is the son of one of the founders. He will be supported by the new CEO and shareholder, Sandro Ardizzone (center). With Alexandre Convent (right), they will form a trio at the head of the company.

©saskia vanderstichele

 

However, the founding families remain on board to ensure the transition. No deadline for exit. "You aim for the long term when you come on board a company," says Sandro Ardizzone, co-founder of Whitestone and now also CEO of GFI.

"You aim for the long term when you come aboard a company."

Sandro Ardizzone

Co-founder of Whitestone and CEO of GFI

 

Approved by the financial markets authority FSMA, GFI was launched in 2005 by Didier Jacques and Thierry Portello, two heavyweights in the sector with more than 40 years of combined experience.

The summary:

  • Founded in 2005, Gold & Forex has weathered the crisis well in its precious metals business.
  • On the other hand, foreign exchange is at half-mast. This has led to the need to explore new opportunities.
  • For example, a deposit activity will be created.
  • The company can count on the support of its new shareholder, Whitestone Partners.

Trading Desk

GFI dans l'ECHO du weekend 03/04/21

GFI dans l'ECHO du weekend 03/04/21
Posté sur Presse
03/04/2021

Gold & Forex, nouveau management

  • Fondée en 2005, Gold & Forex a bien vécu la crise du côté de son activité métaux précieux.
  • Par contre, le change est en berne. Ce qui amène à devoir étudier de nouvelles pistes.
  • Une activité de dépôt va par exemple voir le jour.
  • L'entreprise pourra compter sur le soutien de son nouvel actionnaire, Whitestone Partners.
Plateau de pièce
©saskia vanderstichele

Le holding Whitestone Partners, créé par des anciens de la CNP, est devenu l'actionnaire majoritaire du leader belge du change et des métaux précieux.

Derrière le calme relatif de la rue du Midi, l'heure est à l'effervescence dans la salle des marchés de Gold & Forex International (GFI). Une équipe de 13 personnes s'affaire au rythme des coups de téléphone quasi permanents. Sur les écrans, les cours du Napoléon, du Krugerrand ou encore de l'once d'or montent et descendent au gré de l'offre et de la demande. Bienvenue dans le monde discret du négoce de devises et de métaux précieux.

L'entreprise nichée au cœur du Bruxelles historique est leader sur le marché belge. Ses clients? De Monsieur et Madame tout le monde, qui peuvent ici obtenir le jour-même plus de 60 devises en billets avant un départ urgent à l'étranger, jusqu'aux banques du pays en passant par des family offices ou des gestionnaires de fortunes.

"La crise a renforcé l'attrait des valeurs refuges telles que l'or physique."
Alexandre Convent
Responsable du bureau de trading chez GFI

L'an dernier, le chiffre d'affaires s'élevait à 238 millions d'euros, contre près de 157 millions pré-Covid. Le signe "que la crise a renforcé l'attrait des valeurs refuges telles que l'or physique (dit d'investissement, NDLR)" et autres métaux précieux qui représentent la vaste majorité de l'activité, indique Alexandre Convent, en charge du bureau de trading.

Mais tout n'est pas rose pour autant, crise oblige. Du côté de l'activité de change, l'interdiction de voyage a assez logiquement pesé sur les volumes. "Aujourd'hui, on travaille principalement le dollar, la livre sterling et le franc suisse", évoque le guichetier, aux 35 ans de métier.

Une redynamisation de l'offre est donc là à l'étude. Avec à la clé, pourquoi pas, un accent mis sur la numismatique qui continue à animer les quelques commerces du centre historique, de même que les passionnés sur la toile.

Après tout, le monde change. Vite. Drastiquement. Il serait donc dangereux de ne pas en tenir compte. De multiples plans de diversification sont en ce sens sur la table, comme la possibilité de pouvoir acheter de l'or au gramme, qui serait, à terme, converti physiquement une fois le poids d'un lingotin de 10 grammes atteint par exemple. De quoi ouvrir la porte aux nouvelles générations, en s'inspirant du modèle du Bitcoin.

60.000
euros
Gold & Forex a lancé l'an dernier une plateforme d'e-commerce permettant des achats d'or jusqu'à 60.000 euros.

L'an dernier, une plateforme d'e-commerce était aussi lancée pour des achats d'or allant jusqu'à maximum 60.000 euros. "L'idée serait de la porter à 15% du chiffre d'affaires d'ici trois ans", avance Nicolas Portello, responsable des opérations et de la digitalisation.

Du reste, une activité de dépôt sera lancée la semaine prochaine. De quoi permettre à qui le veut de voir ses métaux précieux entreposés en lieu sûr, hors système bancaire, qui a parfois été rendu inaccessible au pic de la crise. GFI mettra dans la foulée à disposition un outil de gestion à distance des dépôts; elle s'occupera de toute interaction physique.

Munitions nécessaires

Mais qui dit ambition… dit besoin de munitions. En ce sens, GFI peut désormais compter sur l'appui de son nouvel actionnaire depuis janvier qu'est le jeune holding d'investissement Whitestone Partners, apprend-on. Cofondé par des anciens de la Compagnie Nationale à Portefeuille (CNP) de la famille Frère, la société a pris une participation majoritaire au sein de la société bruxelloise.

New Management Team
Nicolas Portello (à gauche) est le fils d'un des fondateurs. Il sera épaulé par le nouveau CEO et actionnaire, Sandro Ardizzone (au centre). Avec Alexandre Convent (à droite), ils formeront un trio à la tête de l'entreprise. ©saskia vanderstichele

Pour autant, les familles fondatrices restent à bord pour assurer la transition. Sans date butoir de sortie. "On vise le long terme quand on monte à bord d'une société", évoque Sandro Ardizzone, cofondateur de Whitestone et désormais également CEO de GFI.

"On vise le long terme quand on monte à bord d'une société."
Sandro Ardizzone
Cofondateur de Whitestone et CEO de GFI

Agréée par l'autorité des marchés financiers qu'est la FSMA, GFI était lancée en 2005 déjà par Didier Jacques et Thierry Portello, deux poids lourds du secteur aux plus de 40 ans de métier combinés.

Le résumé

  • Fondée en 2005, Gold & Forex a bien vécu la crise du côté de son activité métaux précieux.
  • Par contre, le change est en berne. Ce qui amène à devoir étudier de nouvelles pistes.
  • Une activité de dépôt va par exemple voir le jour.
  • L'entreprise pourra compter sur le soutien de son nouvel actionnaire, Whitestone Partners.

Trading Desk